Initial Titles Inducted into Video Game Hall of Fame

The Results are in

Six different video games have met the criteria needed to be the first inductees to the World Video Game Hall of Fame. Located at the Strong National Museum of Play which is based in Rochester, New York the Hall of Fame requires games to meet four specific requirements for consideration. They have to be iconic, have longevity, have reached across international boundaries and also have exerted influence on the design and development of other games, on other forms of entertainment or on popular culture and society.

The six games to be the first of many include:

  • Pong – 1972
  • Pac-Man – 1980
  • Russian Import “Tetris” – 1984
  • Super Mario Bros – 1985
  • Doom – 1993
  • World of Warcraft – 2004

The World Video Game Hall of fame says it recognizes games across all platforms such as arcade, computer, console, handheld and mobile electronic games and all have the possibility of being included. The Strong Museum, which is also home to the National Toy Hall of Fame has been preserving games for the past several years with it’s International Center for the History of Electronic Games.

Of the 15 finalists that were announced in late April, nine did not have what it took to be inducted at this time. Those titles included: The Legend of Zelda, Minecraft, The Oregon Trail, Angry Birds, FIFA, Pokemon, The Sims, Sonic the Hedgehog and space Invaders.

Nominations for 2016 will be considered up until March 31, 2016 and then will be decided upon professionals familiar with the history of video games. To check out the World Video Game Hall of Fame and more head on over to the official website here.


4 Comments on Initial Titles Inducted into Video Game Hall of Fame

  1. WoW but not half-life?

  2. I agree I think Half-Life should have at least been in the running for it.

  3. I understand the ubiquity of WoW, but the game that pioneered that space was Everquest. It is the Doom of MMORPG’s using a 3d gaming engine. If there wasn’t an Everquest there wouldn’t have been a World of Warcraft. (Which I guess by my logic it should have been Wolfenstien not Doom here as well…)

  4. Everquest should have been on the list for sure. Wow took things like the instance from them. Wow was based on instances.

Comments are closed.